Did you know there are over 6 million car accidents in the United States every year? Today, 90 people will die in a car accident. You are 23 times more likely to crash while texting and driving.
It is obvious people are still not paying attention on the roads. Several new laws were passed in the state of Virginia which went into effect at the beginning of July. They are aimed at making the roads safer, and you are going to want to know how these laws affect you.
Here are some of the new laws governing the roads of Virginia:
Holding Your Phone While Driving in a Work Zone in Virginia is Illegal
Virginia lawmakers were trying to pass a law to make it illegal for drivers to hold their phone while operating a motor vehicle. While they were not able to pass the law, they did pass legislation making it illegal to hold a communication device while driving through a highway work zone. The fine is $250 if you get ticketed for this violation.
Regardless of what the state laws state, it is a good idea not to hold your phone any time you are behind the wheel.
Expanding the “Move Over” Law
Virginia has raised the penalties if you fail to change lanes and move over for emergency vehicles, police and fire, and other vehicles that are stopped on the shoulder with their lights flashing.
It is now considered a Class 1 misdemeanor. You could receive one year in jail along and/or a fine of up to $2,500 if you are cited.
The Practice of Suspending Virginia Driver Licenses for Unpaid Court Fees Ends
In the Commonwealth, there are 627,000 people who are now eligible to get their driver’s license reinstated. As drivers, this means there will be more vehicles on the roadways. Lawmakers determined it was unfair to take away licenses due to unpaid court fees.
If you have been injured in a car accident by a distracted driver, Epperly & Follis, P.C. would like to help with your case. Give us a call at 804-648-6480 to schedule an appointment.